International Parliamentarians Congress

International Parliamentarians' Congress

Connecting Parliamentarians

The Chair of the Milli Majlis (National Assembly) of Azerbaijan, H.E Sahiba Gafarova appointed as the Vice President of the International Parliamentarians Congress IPC.

The chair of the Milli Majlis of Azerbaijan, H.E Sahiba Gafarova is PhD Philology and a Professor holds the title of Honored Teacher. She is authored a number of textbooks, instruction manuals, monographs and academic articles. She commands the English and Russian languages.

She chaired the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe Subcommittee against Racism and Xenophobia in 2012-2014 and the Subcommittee on Gender Equality in 2014-2015. She served as a political coordinator of the Parliamentary Network Women Free from Violence as well as the chief speaker on the prevention of violence against women during 2015-2017. In 2016-2018, she was a member of the PACE Bureau and Chair of the PACE Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons. Besides, she headed the Azerbaijani delegation to the EuroNest Parliamentary Assembly in 2018-2020.

At present, Excellency heads the delegations of Azerbaijan to the Parliamentary Assembly of Turkic-speaking Countries and to the CIS Inter-Parliamentary Assembly.

We warmly welcome H.E Ms. Sahiba Gafarova on becoming the Vice president of IPC and the Chairperson of the Committee on the “Election observation mission”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *